

Emeritus College

Room 4160, Brock Commons South 6180 Walter Gage Road Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1K2

Phone 604 827 6359 office@emerituscollege.ubc.ca emerituscollege.ubc.ca

UBC Emeritus College Annual General Meeting 2025 Agenda

Wednesday, May 7, 2025 at 1:30pm

- 1. Moment of Silence to honour those members who have died
- 2. Approval of the Agenda
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of the May 15, 2024 AGM
- 4. Report from the Principal (Bill McCutcheon)
- 5. Results of Election of new members of the Council
- 6. Looking forward (Sandra Bressler)
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Adjournment

We acknowledge that the UBC Vancouver campus is situated within the ancestral and unceded territory of the x[™]məθk[™]əŷəm (Musaueam).

UBC Emeritus College Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2024 Wednesday, May 15, 2024 at 1:30 pm

Past Principal Anne Junker opened the meeting with a welcome to the members. 53 people registered.

1. Moment of Silence to honor members who have passed away in the last year – we remember them.

Margaret E Arcus Franco Lioy
Hans Burndorfer Alan Lowe
Thelma Sharp Cook John K MacFarlane
Doug Cochrane Edith McGeer
Norman Epstein Peter McGinn
Michael Feller William Alastair McLeod
Jiri Frohlich John McNeill

David Vincent Godin Thomas Raymond (Ray)

Sneja Gunew Mary Louisa Miller
G. M. "Bud" Homsy Andrew Moore
Lee M. Johnson Anthony M Perks
Ralph Keeler Anthony Podlecki

David J. Randall Harvey Richer

Richard Doncaster (Don) Russell

Michael Schulzer Gary Dane Sinclair Warren Stevenson Lorne D. Sullivan Paul Thiele

James Edward Thornton

Richard Wall Robert Milton Will

2. Approval of Agenda

Rita De Grandis

The agenda was approved.

3. Approval of Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, Wednesday, May 17, 2023

Meadowcroft

The circulated minutes were approved with no changes.

4. Report from the Principal (Anne Junker, on behalf of Paul Harrison)

The College is now 6 years old. Membership stands at 1877 members (representing 20% of UBC academics), with 37 new emeriti acknowledged by Senate, and 3 members elected by Council. There are 2 new Order of Canada recipients:

- Dr. Morris L. Barer, C.M. Professor Emeritus of Population and Public Health
- Dr. Sally Thorne, C.M. Professor Emeritus of Nursing

and 2 new Order of BC recipients:

- Jane Buxton, Professor Emeritus from the School of Population and Public Health
- Pieter Cullis, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Emeritus Activities 2023-24:

- 84 events:
 - o 63 meetings of 9 special interest groups; 21 Meetings from 4 programs
 - 3 new Special Interest Groups:
 - VEG (Vegan Enthusiast Group)
 - Seniors Sports Program, and

- UBC Okanagan Outdoor Activities Group
- o 5 reports
 - Emeritus College Newsletter (3)
 - Annual Report
 - Indigenous Information Booklet for UBC Emeritus College Members
- Book display: 40 Participants in the Emeritus College Author's Book Display at the General Meeting on April 17, 2024
- Met with President, Vice-Provost, Associate Deans Faculty
- Welcomed active involvement of UBCO emeriti
- Advocated for a seamless IT transition to retirement
- Advocated with G+PS (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies) for clearer information on emeriti as grad supervisors
- Participated in UBC Giving Day
- Co-sponsored with Faculty Relations, 2 virtual retirement workshops for 165 faculty (with waiting lists for each seminar)
- Subsidized 28 emeriti from 22 Departments \$48,488 for scholarly activities

5. Results of election of new members of Council (Anne Junker, Past Principal)

Elected:

- Principal William (Bill) McCutcheon, Physics and Astronomy
- Vice Principal Sandra Bressler, Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
- Member at Large (three-year term) Robert Armstrong, Pediatrics; David Edgington, Geography;
 Ruth Derksen, Civil Engineering

Thanks to the Nominating Committee: Anne Junker, Linda Leonard, Sandra Wilkins and Graeme Wynn, and the candidates for wiling to serve for these positions and all the members who voted.

6. Looking forward and thank-you's (William (Bill) McCutcheon)

Thanks to the Executive and Council whose terms are ending: Principal Paul Harrison, Past Principal Anne Junker Members-at-Large: Alan Mackworth, Paul Rogers, Patricia Shaw

7. Other Business – there being no further business, the meeting continued with the Awards presentations and invited Speaker.

We were very pleased to welcome Gage Averill, Provost and Vice-President Academic; Moura Quayle, Vice Provost and Associate Vice-President Academic; and Janice Stewart, Deputy Provost to the Awards Ceremony.

The Awards were presented virtually through video recording, as Principal Paul Harrison, Dr. Sima Godfrey, and Dr. Benoit-Antoine Bacon were unavailable to attend in person.

Principal Paul Harrison presented the **Emeritus College Award for Excellence in Innovative and Creative Endeavours by UBC Emeriti** to **Dr. Sima Godfrey**, Associate Professor Emerita of French, Hispanic and Italian Studies.

President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Benoit-Antoine Bacon presented **The President's Award for Distinguished Service** to **Dr. Robert Armstrong**, Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics.

This year marks the final term for Lynn Smith as the Chair of the Awards Committee. Jim Zidek has been designated as the incoming Chair. Additionally, Patricia Shaw has agreed to join the Committee. Members were encouraged to nominate colleague for the Awards.

Guest Speaker **Dr. Jeremy Heyl**, Head of UBC Physics and Astronomy spoke on *JWST: A successor to Hubble? No, it is so much more*.